About Us

Mission Statement:

The Rocky Mountain Advanced Computing Consortium is a collaboration among academic and research institutions located throughout the intermountain states. Our mission is to facilitate widespread effective use of high performance computing throughout the Rocky Mountain region by:


  • Educating graduate and undergraduate students, faculty, researchers, and industry partners on the use of computational science and high performance computing.

  • Coordinating multi-institutional efforts to advance research, practice, and education in computational science in order to address important regional problems.

  • Bringing together a broad range of researchers, faculty, and industry partners with a depth of experience and expertise not available at any single institution and facilitate their collaboration in multi-disciplinary and multi-institutional teams.


2017-2018 RMACC Board of Directors:

Chair: Thomas Hauser, University of Colorado Boulder
Vice-Chair: Tom Cheatham, University of Utah
Executive Director: Becky Yeager, University of Colorado Boulder

At Large Members:
Tim Kaiser, Colorado School of Mines
Diana Dugas, New Mexico State University
Ben Nickell, Idaho National Lab


The current member institutions include:

Full Members:

Colorado School of Mines
Colorado State University 
Denver University
Idaho National Lab
NCAR - The National Center for Atmospheric Research 
NREL - The National Renewable Energy Lab 
New Mexico State University

United States Geological Survey (USGS)
University of Colorado Boulder
University of Colorado, Colorado Springs
University of New Mexico
University of Utah
University of Wyoming

Affiliate Members:

Boise State University
Brigham Young University
Idaho State University
Montana State University
NOAA - The National Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration 
Regis University
University of Colorado Denver